Immigration Procedures

The information below was compiled for your convenience, and you may use it at your own risk. Our official recommendation is to follow guidelines provided by the Argentinian consulates and embassies.

As of May 2014, you can enter Argentina as a tourist for up to 90 days without visa if your passport is valid for the whole period of stay, and has been issued by: Australia⁴, Austria, Barbados, Belgium, Bolivia, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canadá⁴, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Grenada¹, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Holy See, Honduras, Hong Kong², Hong Kong S.A.R., Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Jamaica¹, Japan, Korea, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malasia¹, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Montenegro, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, San Marino, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, The Netherlands, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Ucrania, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America⁴, Uruguay, Venezuela³.
¹ For Grenada, Jamaica, and Malasia, the maximum stay is 30 days only.
² For Hong Kong the maximum stay is 30 days only and you need British Passport BNO.
³ For Venezuela the maximum stay is 60 days only.
⁴ For Australia, Canada, and USA, you need to pay a Reciprocity Fee (see below for more details) prior to departure.

If the country who issued your passport is not listed above, please contact us immediately. You will need to apply for a visa.

More information could be found here.

Entry request fee

In order to enter Argentina, the nationals of the following countries must pay a "reciprocity fee" in accordance with the following chart.

The payment of this fee is NOT a visa since Argentina does not require visa to nationals of the mentioned countries when traveling for tourism or business purposes.

The Argentine Government set this entry fee on equal amounts to those Argentine citizens must pay when requesting a visa to travel to those countries.

Nationality      Fee              Numer of entries  
Australian    U$D 100    Multiple entries (1 year)  
Canadian    CAD$100    Multiple entries (10 years or up to one month before passport expiration´s date)
American     U$D 160    Multiple entries (10 years)  

Note: Rates subject to modifications based upon reciprocity. Or its equivalent in Argentine pesos.


1- Argentine nationals who also bear US, Canadian, or Australian citizenship, and present any of these passports at the Immigration control.

2- Foreign nationals bearing regular US, Canadian, or Australian passports in transit.

3- Foreign nationals bearing regular US, Canadian, or Australian passports who have permanent residence in Argentina.

4- Foreign nationals bearing Canadian passports with a business visa.

5- Foreign nationals bearing official or diplomatic passports from the US, Canada, or Australia.

Those foreign citizens who have already paid the Reciprocity Fee in the past and it is still valid, do NOT have to pay the fee again.

VERY IMPORTANT:  United States, Canadian or Australian citizens MUST pay the Reciprocity Fee online before their arrival into Argentina.  CLICK HERE

For more information, follow the instructions in this link.